Cooper hewitt national design award

Blu Dot was awarded the National Design Award by Cooper Hewitt in 2018. 

“Blu Dot was founded in 1997 by college friends John Christakos, Maurice Blanks, and Charlie Lazor. Based in Minneapolis, Blu Dot’s mission is to design and manufacture furniture that is useful, affordable, and brings good design to as many people as possible. Christakos, Blanks, and Lazor focus on pragmatic issues in an effort to arrive at forms that are both practical and beautiful. Recognized for its inventive use of materials, fabrication technology, and assembly methods, Blu Dot produces furniture that is determined by an economy of means while maintaining a playful sensibility.”